How Many US States Have the Letter K in Their Name?

There are only four US states with the letter K in their name: Kentucky, Kansas, Alaska, and Oklahoma. Interestingly, all four of these states have something else in common: they all touch at least one other state with the letter K in its name (Kentucky and Tennessee, Kansas and Nebraska, Alaska and Canada, Oklahoma, and Texas).

Did you know that there are four US states with the letter K in their name? They are Kentucky, Kansas, Alaska, and Oklahoma. All four states have something unique to offer visitors.

Kentucky is known for its horse racing, bourbon whiskey, and bluegrass music. Kansas is home to the world’s tallest waterfalls, the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve, and the city of Wichita. Alaska is famous for its glaciers, wildlife, and stunning scenery.

And Oklahoma is a great place to experience Native American culture and learn about the history of the Wild West. So if you’re looking for a dose of Americana, be sure to check out one (or all!) of these great states.

How Many Us States Contain the Letter K?

There are four US states that contain the letter K: Alaska, Hawaii, Kentucky, and Oklahoma.

How Many Us States Have the Letter W?

There are 23 states in the United States that have the letter “W” in their name. These states are Washington, Wyoming, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Webster Groves (a city in Missouri).

Do Any States Have Z in Them?

There are actually four states with names that include the letter Z. Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, and Oklahoma all have at least one Z in their name. There are also a handful of U.S. territories whose names include the letter Z, including American Samoa, Guam, and Puerto Rico.

What Letter is Not in All 50 States?

The letter “Z” is not in any of the 50 U.S. state names.

Us States With the Letter K in It

There are four US states with the letter K in them: Kentucky, Kansas, Alaska, and Oklahoma. Each state has something unique to offer visitors and residents alike. Kentucky is known for its horse racing industry, as well as it’s bluegrass music and bourbon whiskey.

The state capital of Frankfort is home to many historical sites, including the state capitol building and the Governor’s Mansion. Louisville, the largest city in Kentucky, is also home to a number of attractions, including the Louisville Slugger Museum and Factory and Churchill Downs, the site of the Kentucky Derby. Kansas is known for its prairies and wheat fields.

The state capital of Topeka is home to a number of historical sites, including the Kansas State Capitol Building and the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site. Wichita, the largest city in Kansas, is known for its art museums and performing arts venues. Alaska is known for its stunning natural beauty.

The state capital of Juneau is surrounded by glaciers and mountains, while Anchorage offers visitors a taste of urban life in Alaska with its restaurants and shops. Denali National Park is one of Alaska’s most popular tourist destinations, offering visitors a chance to see wildlife up close including grizzly bears, caribou, moose, and wolves. Oklahoma is known for its cowboy culture.

The state capital of Oklahoma City is home to a number of museums dedicated to this era including the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum.


The letter K is found in the names of five US states Kansas, Kentucky, Alaska, Oklahoma, and Arkansas. Each state has a unique history and culture that makes it worth visiting.

Ahnaf Nihin is a senior content writer at Gametechia. He's having 10 years of experience in Technology and troubleshooting topics. Coming from a background in engineering, you will often see his writing stuff related to How To's, Android, and iOS.